jump to navigation

Avast vs AVG (or how Avast helps detect the “I don’t hate mozilla but use IE or Else” virus) January 14, 2008

Posted by NAyK in Anti-Virus, Linux, Software, Windows.
trackback

There’s this virus (or worm?) lurking in my campus… it’s the “I don’t hate mozilla but use IE or Else” virus that connects to our machines using a pen (USB) drive. Norton has not been able to detect it. AVG has not been able to detect it. But I just discovered that Avast detects and even removes the virus from pendrives.

The virus is more irritating that delibitating. It blocks the Firefox browser and doesn’t allow a user to open YouTube.com pages. There are a few sites that help remove that virus… for instance see here.

To prevent the linux from hitting my laptop, I would use Linux to open all usb pendrives. And/Or disable autorun for removable hardrives in Windows.

But once Avast detected the virus, I feel a little secure.

Thus, my vote for free anti-virus software goes to Avast. (Plus it has boot virus check, which I think is really helpful. It checks for viruses before Windows can do its thing. cool!)

Comments»

1. Dex - March 11, 2008

Avast will probably be the best fully functional antivirus freeware with version 4.8’s development which will incorporate stronger antispyware capabilities and rootkit detection/removal as well.

2. Chinmay - March 27, 2008

thanks a lot i have the same problem…my college has this virus and they have bought quik heal antivirus which detects the virus but cant heal it…
thanks for this i shall install avast and be secured

3. Razibul Hassan - July 26, 2011

I went through the same experience and silently praised Avast as the only solution maker at that time. Most of the Antiviruses now can detect his abominable virus.

The infection of this virus can mane a net surfer pretty irritated specially s/he is a Mozilla lover.

4. 475 Union - December 18, 2012

Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am inspired!
Very helpful information specifically the closing part :
) I handle such info much. I was seeking this particular information for
a long time. Thank you and best of luck.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

