jump to navigation

Brasero vs K3B: CD Burning in Linux July 13, 2008

Posted by NAyK in Brasero, K3B, Linux, Recommendation, Reviews, Software, Ubuntu, Working with Linux.
Tags: ,
trackback

In this site I have not hidden my preference for KDE over GNOME, and also my preference for K3B. However, for K3B my comparison was mainly Nero or GNOME’s older default burning application. With Ubuntu 8 point whatever, and thus also in Linux Mint 5 (which I am currently using in one of my computers) came the Ubuntu CD Burner Brasero. And I was keen to see how it worked. Here’s a brief comparison through a real-life incident: (note I’m using Linux Mint 5 (Elyssa I think) here which has GNOME, but I’ve loaded some key KDE applications including K3B).

BRASERO: I tried Brasero (0.7.1) for basic CD burning and it was pretty good… burned iso files and CD data files without problem. I still found it a little too simplistic, but then, that’s GNOME trait, so why blame Brasero? However, recently I tried burning directly out of a video camera. ie. I had digital files that were stored in a video camera and I tried to burn onto a CD using Brasero. When I launched Brasero, it started testing the MDSUMS of the CD (why, I don’t know)… and that process too over four minutes… and without any indication of how much time was passed or remaining. After the checking process, the CD started burning and it too about 3.5 minutes.

K3B: Since I had many video files on my camera (more than 700 MB), I decided to burn the remaining files using K3B (1.0.4), perhaps hoping that the process would be faster. And guess what, K3B almost instantly started burning the files from the camera and took a little more than 4 minutes (4.1) to burn 700 MB. The whole process was almost 50% faster than Brasero (if we take the entire process into account).

Conclusion: I can’t help but think that K3B is an excellent (even superior) CD burning solution, even in comparison to Brasero. Therefore, if Brasero is loaded on GNOME machines I would still personally recommend everyone install and use K3B as their default CD-burner instead.

Comments»

1. Ridgeland - July 13, 2008

I’ve tried Brasero and returned to K3B. Every time I burn a CD with Brasero it says the verification failed the CD is invalid. But md5sum verifies the CD is OK. So I burn with Brasero but don’t let it give the false verification and check with md5sum on the CLI. Better yet is just use K3b and do it all in one step.

2. Anurag Panda - July 13, 2008

No other CD/DVD burning program comes even close to K3b in both Linux and Windows platforms.
The only gripe that I hape against K3b is that it starts very slowly in my GNOME desktop abd that it doesn’t integrate well with GNOME in terms of theming.
But I guess those problems would be solved with KDE4 versions of K3b

3. Dale - July 14, 2008

I use k3b when possible and think it’s a great program but for some reason it doesn’t like the latest batch of dvd-rw’s I bought and won’t burn them at all. Then I go to brasero and it works great. Nice to have multiple choices of good pgms.

4. Solomon - August 25, 2008

Thanks, just started using Ubuntu and refused to delete my Windows partition because that’s where I go to burn all my DVD’s and CD’s. Only one question: does anyone know of a program similar to Nero Vision – a program that will take any video file, convert it into a .mpg (even convert PAL to NTSC) and then burn it to a DVD? Thanks

5. Haan - August 27, 2008

Yes, try mencoder, DeVeDe, or DVDStyler and then the result can be burnt to DVD. I highly recommend using mencoder+DVDStyler together; together they both handle creating DVDs wonderfully. If that’s not good for you, use mandvd.

6. Anonymous - October 1, 2008

FYI, the checksum is a plugin. You can disable it under the View (I think) > Plugins menu item. Burning will then start immediately just like K3B.

7. boxing ring card girls - October 14, 2008

hezwg rqmxab

8. Mizfeplitte - October 17, 2008

You site very good and interesting . Thanks and sory
kfii
sory
sory

9. pittsburgh easy car rental - October 17, 2008

mntl kzdp wvbd juxkma

10. cross car graphic - October 17, 2008

ncbm

11. Omi Azad - March 9, 2009

I think still Brasero has miles to go to become a competitor of K3B. K3B rocks! and there is no alternate of this.

12. El Carroz - April 29, 2009

Everytime I use brasero to give it a try I return to KB3 , really is one of the best burner, also everybody can try Gnome baker is ok but sometime crash, in other words KB3 rocks

13. Boe - June 29, 2009

If you don’t want Brasero to check the MDSUMS just check out the boxes in “Plugins”.

14. las - July 7, 2009

When I used Windows I used Nero & only thing came close in ubuntu was K3b

15. aaaaaaaa - September 22, 2009

in brasero, just go to edit, plugin and disable all because they are useless, but brasero is a good burner, when you disable those useless plugins brasero will be better, i have not tried k3b so much so i cant say anything…

Anonymous - October 6, 2009

agreed

16. Adam C. Sieracki - December 6, 2009

To second someone’s comment, K3b is great…until it comes accross the odd DVD, which it inexplicably turns into a coaster. It does seem to use a LOT of memory, as well.

Brasero’s okay, but I’ll never use Gnomebaker–it’s too balky, sometimes utterly refusing to do ANYTHING. After Googling, I realised that others have had the same issues.

Haven’t tried others (Graveman, &c.)..

17. Greq - March 1, 2010

In windows there is InfraRecorder, that is the best.

18. Joe Phillips - April 1, 2010

Thanks for the advice about turning off the plugins in brasero. Still on the fence till I try using both programs more. I’ll have to try out both programs more before I decide which is truly the best for my needs.

When I was using Windows I liked DeepBurner for doing audio cds and Infrarecorder for data cds. Deepburner would setup and make an audio cd from mp3/wavs as soon as you drag and dropped and hit the Burn button. Infrarecorder would first take an hour converting a few mp3’s and already proper 44100 stereo wave files into what it felt thought was a proper pcm 44100 stereo wav before it would choke and not bother completing the process. No other program I’ve ever used for converting sound files ever took an hour to do what takes every other normal sound converter (like my personal fave WinFF) less than a few minutes.

You would think after having trouble making audio cds Infrarecorder would suck at data cds too. That is far from the contrary. It made better data cds that I could actually use outside of the pc I burned them on like in an xbox 360. A lot of the data discs I used to make on DeepBurner before discovering Infrarecorder tend to show up as No Disc when inserted in the drives of my other pcs or in my xbox. I think it might have to do with the Fixate algorithm in Infrarecorder is actually closing the cd properly, thus making the cd visible and working in any drive, while whatever DeepBurner uses to close the cd just seems like it is while it really is not.

19. Mikhail Ramsey - December 3, 2010

I cannot count the number of times Brasero has turned new discs into garbage after a complete burn. I always manage to get some error no matter what properties I set the burn up with. I just tried the v2.32.0 to copy a CD, and that just crashes outright. Back to k3b for me!

20. Mike Boston - December 12, 2010

“I cannot count the number of times Brasero has turned new discs into garbage after a complete burn. I always manage to get some error no matter what properties I set the burn up with. I just tried the v2.32.0 to copy a CD, and that just crashes outright. Back to k3b for me!”

For me just change Brasero to K3b. I just cannot get it to burn an entire disc without getting the error message “Cdrecord has no permission to open the device.”
I’ve read the solutions on more than two dozen forums
and none of them has gotten K3b to function. Is there someone out there that can help?
Thanks email me at bombketch@gmail.com

21. Gonzalo - February 10, 2011

What about Gnomebaker? And the new version of Brasero is still so inferior to K3B?

22. Brasero vs K3B – CD Burning in Linux | TurboLinux Blog - June 22, 2011

[...] Here is a good tutorial show you about Brasero vs K3B – CD Burning in Linux: In this site I have not hidden my preference for KDE over GNOME, and also my preference for K3B. However, for K3B my comparison was mainly Nero or GNOME’s older default burning application. With Ubuntu 8 point whatever, and thus also in Linux Mint 5 (which I am currently using in one of my computers) came the Ubuntu CD Burner Brasero. And I was keen to see how it worked. Here’s a brief comparison through a real-life incident: (note I’m using Linux Mint 5 (Elyssa I think) here which has GNOME, but I’ve loaded some key KDE applications including K3B). [...]

23. Larry - September 8, 2011

Brasero vs K3B In linux mint 11.04. I have tried to add normalize when burning a cd in K3B. Brasero does it automatically. It will not find normalize for K3B when you try to add it. Yes, K3B is a much better program hands down, but if you cannot make it normalize the tracks on a cd, K3B becomes useless. I will have to use brasero until K3B adds normalize to their program.

24. Anonymous - January 13, 2012

Thanks a million for this blog page (even though it’s now about to get nearly FOUR years old).
But the recent comments from few months ago show that this is still an issue for many.

Thanks too that I now know that I should keep my KNOPPIX 5.1 (live cd) even though we’re beyond 6.7.X now, since they removed (!!!) the great K3B in favor of the significantly inferior Brasero – for no obvious reason whatsoever.

Plus, I love my KDE and I don’t see any reason why I should always have to “emulate GNOME” whenever I want to burn a CD/DVD.

25. Cameron Meikle - November 18, 2012

I just tried Brasero and was treated (on more than one machine, more than one brasero) to a ‘Blank cdr disk: not enough free space’ message. ok, this is a 700 meg disk, and the ISO I was burning was an enormous 557.1 kb in size. yes plpbt.iso is only about 1/2 a meg, and brasero was telling me that ther was not enough free space on my blank disk!!!! This was with a pristine new install of Linux Mint Cinamon. 14 … so I installed K3B, after which, the iso burned without incident, the boot sector of PLOP partition booter works, and that’s all I needed. The default mint installed Brasero kinda wasted my afternoon, as it also wouldn’t work in a bodhi linux install… It would seem that this thing is hugely hardware specific- great if you happen to have the right hardware! K3B seems to just work… on many hardware configs… It’s a bit of a download on a slow connection, but worth it.

26. paolo - January 28, 2013

Are there anyone of these softwares able to burn one iso image directly to on usb stick?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

