jump to navigation

Google Drive and Truecrypt August 28, 2012

Posted by NAyK in Dropbox, Google, Google Drive, Truecrypt.
trackback

For a while I have been struggling with a particular problem using Google Drive and I can’t seem to find a solution.

The scenario I am facing is this: I want to install Google drive into a Truecrypt encrypted drive. However, I find that Google Drive does not allow me to install on any Truecrypt drive. Instead I have to install on the default C or D drive.

I find this disturbing because I want to encrypt my Google drive (not the other way, of putting an encrypted drive into Google Drive, as some have suggested).

This solution, to put a cloud storage into a Truecrypt drive is possible using Dropbox, but I wonder why it’s not possible using Google Drive.

I have found that I can’t afford to have my sensitive documents from my Google Drive to be accessible, without encryption, on my laptop.

I wonder if there is, or will be a solution, to this.

Comments»

1. Anonymous - September 19, 2012

Can you change your Google Drive location to a folder you actually want your data to be in? The answer is that you can. It is even pretty easy, although not even remotely obvious. Here’s the procedure:

1. Choose any random location for your Google Drive.
2. Exit Google Drive.
3. Move/rename the Google Drive folder to whatever location you want.
4. Start Google Drive.
5. Click Google Drive icon and select the error message about the folder being not found.
6. Click “Locate folder” in the opened window and select your new folder.

Anonymous - October 29, 2012

This doesn’t really solve the problem. Within step 6, when trying to select the folder that has been moved into a truecrypt container, the application shows an error message “The selected folder is not the original folder” (or sth like that, I get the localised version of the error message).
So obviously, Google Drive just doesn’t work within a truecrypt container, for unknown reasons.

2. Dermot - November 21, 2012

To the OS a filesystem is a file system, however not so for Google Drive. Presumably Google have a technical reason. Works fine with DropBox though. Google are you listening?

3. Gareth - May 11, 2013

I have this issue too for remote staff. Another product EMC’s Syncplicity, although the PC client allows you to use a Truecrypt volume, after a recent issue, the Syncplicity support staff emphasised they do NOT support Truecrypt mounted volumes locally.
Dropbox works as previous posters have said, although I’ve no idea if “they support it”, if anything ever went wrong (eg. mounting an corrupt empty TC volume and all your files start deleting).

After a bunch of reading and research, I’ll be moving to Full Disk Encryption (FDE) instead of File Level Encryption (FLE), in order to comply, probably still with Truecrypt’s FDE in this SMB case and take the hardware performance hit, across the whole laptop.

Useful article about FDE choices here. http://www.esecurityplanet.com/mobile-security/buyers-guide-to-full-disk-encryption.html

Another free FDE option

http://www.ce-infosys.com/english/free_compusec/free_compusec.aspx

4. none - January 8, 2014

The one and only correct way using encryption in the cloud is to put tc container INTO cloud storage and to use DropBox that is supporting delta copy (goodle drive doesn’t).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

