jump to navigation

Looking for Linux Nirvana September 7, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Discussions-Conclusions-Hopes, Linux.
trackback

I have pretty low but real expectations for the ideal Linux Distro.

1. It should recognise my VIA Graphics card (something which only Mandriva 2006) has been able to do. Of course it should also allow me to use the video power (hence, it must be able to play DVDs and mp3 music). (Again full points to Mandriva)

2. It should recognise my ADSL modem (success for both Mandriva and Ubuntu).

(Interestingly, SUSE has been able to do NONE of the above! Otherwise I’d be typing this in SUSE!!!)

3. It should allow me to update and use the growing repositories easily (zero marks to Mandriva 2006… which is basically a free limited version and blocks updating… doesn’t even allow me to download and install flash pluging without paying for the priviledge to do so. It’s really irritating).

4. It should look good. “SUSE 9.3, SUSE 9.3… whereforth are thou SUSE 9.3?”

5. And finally, it should be free! By which I mean, I don’t mind paying for CD burning and postage cost… but I’m hoping that Linux Nirvana means we don’t have to pay linuzillions to own and maintain it. I believe in open source because the beautiful things of life must be free to use by all. I do believe that software developers can develop software for money, and I don’t mind paying for good software, but I’m hoping that as long as possible, it will remain free. (note: not cheap, but free).

5b. Note also that the copyright below this site is simply a respect oriented thing: I don’t mind if anything uses this stuff as long as they don’t change a few things and make it look like I did it… or if someone uses what I have written and passes off as his/her own. Of course I’m not doing anything great, so I doubt anyone will want to copy what I am writing, but still that is the limit of my copyright principle for my journalic sites.

So see, that’s not that much to ask, is it?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

