jump to navigation

Topologilinux September 10, 2006

Posted by NAyK in First Impressions, Linux, Other Distros, Working on Linux.
trackback

This is not a cool title, but the name of an actual little-known distro that does one really cool thing. It allows you to load linux through Windows, without having to partition anything.

I hadn’t heard of it… and it wasn’t listed in Distrowatch. It came with a free CD and so I decided to install it on my Lenovo because the machine does not have a CD and doesn’t even have partitions!!! Why?WHY?WHY???!!!

So instead of installing a partition manager I decided to give Topologilinux a try. The distribution is based on Slackware 10.2. It did take a long time to load; but that’s probably because I wasn’t in DOS mode, so it just seemed like one Windows application running really long.

In the end it actually loaded, with GRUB menu everything. It loaded into text menu. And just because I knew the code “gdm” and “kdm” I assumed that xfce which was also loaded, would be “xdm”. I was right! And it loaded onto what is currently my favourite Desktop Manager… XFCE!

“Good bye Topogolinux. Hope you fare better in a later update. I really liked your easy install in-windows proceedure, but somehow I prefer the more solid reliable *read well-known* distributions even, if I need to be more of an expert to use it.”

Anyway… by then I wasn’t connected on the internet so I could only admire the linux on my new laptop and rue the fact that it didn’t have openoffice… which is the single most important software on Linux to date!

I logged out and restarted windows and Topogolinux would not load through windows (as it promised). Anyway, I didn’t think it would work anyway… so then I tried to work on Windows and I realised that the internet which was working on windows was no longer working! “What!!! It messed with my system?” I thought. And I quickly uninstalled Topogolinux with its installer… and believe it or not… it took “5 seconds” even restoring boot back to Windows. Wow, amazing. There are some really cool people working under the Linux hood. 1000pts for uninstall. Of course one file was left untouched, but I just manually deleted it. Then, horror of horrors, I went to reboot and BLUE SCREEN!!! “-2000pts for uninstall,” I thought. I had no idea what the problem was, and when I forced shut down and tried again… the same thing happened. Curses!

But suddenly, as if Windows decided to stop scolding me for bringing the prodigal child in its pen, everything went back to normal again. I have no idea why, which is scary. But Windows will be Windows, I thought. Now I will just wait for a Partition Manager, do the right/slow thing… and install SUSE!!!! (assuming that it can recognise all my hardware of course!!!)

Good bye Topogolinux. Hope you fare better in a later update. I really liked your easy install in-windows proceedure, but somehow I prefer the more solid reliable *read well-known* distributions even, if I need to be more of an expert to use it.

Topologilinux website, with screenshots and everything. I removed everything before I could think of taking my own screenshots.

Summary: Brilliant idea… to install Linux without having to worry about partitions. But seemingly poorly executed. Excellent uninstall, though it did scare my Windows XP a bit.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

