jump to navigation

Ubuntu in 30minutes! September 14, 2006

Posted by NAyK in First Impressions, Linux, Ubuntu, Working on Linux.
trackback

Well bye bye Freespire, hello Ubuntu.

I loaded Ubuntu 6.06.1 today and was pleasantly surprised by the simplicity and the speed. There was not text based load, instead, using the live CD (something like Mepis?) Ubuntu installs directly.

It seems to have recognised the basic graphics display (meaning it works in 1000/700 resolution). And it took me only a few minutes of configuring the network/internet.

Of course I missed making some choices in terms of installation, but maybe that is possible to do with a more advanced install that missed me.

But it looks good, and currently I’m writing this on Ubuntu.

I do wish I had XFCE though, I find GNOME too irritating (though the games of GNOME are good).

Anyway. I need to further installs, (especially to enable mp3 etc) which I will do when I have more bandwidth to play with.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

