jump to navigation

ILove ELive November 8, 2006

Posted by NAyK in First Impressions, Linux, Other Distros, Screenshots.
trackback

The corny title above was irresistible. Let just say, however, that I was blown away by ELive… a distro based on the Enlightenment Window Manager that reminds me that functionality is not the only important thing for a distro. What what a distro! I downloaded and tried out ELive 0.5.2 unstable and though it didn’t work on my laptop (and I would have erased SUSE if I had the chance), it worked well enough on my Desktop.

In a review I read, someone preferred the night theme. I in contrast really prefered the day theme. Wow, what a look. What a feel. I know I’m gushing, partly because I am not a Mac user. But still, this is how I want to work!

Below is a screenshot of another elive installation. I think it looked better on my computer, but since I’ve still not started doing screenshots of my own, this will suffice.

eLive Screenshot

All I want to add is that, this is truly the future of desktops… and I hope elive comes out with a stable/usable release that teaches KDE/GNOME what a linux destop manager should do… make the user go oooh… aaaah… wow!

Anyway, here is an installation guide for ELive 0.5. Could prove helpful for those who are installing.

Comments»

1. Which Linux distro to choose? Help for first timers « Tryst with Linux and other Alternatives - January 9, 2007

[…] XFCE is for machines that have limited system resources and there is also a personal favourite ‘Enlightenment’ (just to name a few). I won’t overwhelm the reader more with this information here. But […]

2. Kazelfiv - August 5, 2008

Hi! http://rqeqaule.com idbix lopsf http://wnhntzay.com mxukx mxazb

3. Kazelsej - August 5, 2008

Hi! http://elmqatry.com rfhtg bxgym http://uqydwicf.com mjmiu ybuer


Leave a Reply

