jump to navigation

Linux Mint: my next half-hope November 17, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Linux, Linux Mint, Other Distros, Working on Linux.
trackback

Currently I’m in my second attempt to download and install Linux Mint. Yesterday I tried, and the CD was corrupted (it is always a good thing to check a CD before attempting to install… I can’t understand why Mandriva One doesn’t allow us to do that!!!).

My hope with Linux Mint is that it will be more stable that XFLD 0.3. As I have briefly mentioned earlier… my XFLD has started giving boot errors. It says there is a problem that it can’t resolve and expects me to manually install. Problem? It’s in text mode and I don’t know that much backend Linux code to even understand what is wrong, or how to solve it. Thankfully, it allows me to press <Ctrl> <D> to continue… and then the machine works just fine. The same error crops up during exit, and the same solution <Ctrl> <D> gets me back on track. These are minor glitches…

…but that’s why I am still attracted to another Ubuntu derivative… which (aaah, finally!) allows proprietory plugins. I am not a Linux user who uses only non-proprietory software. And I really hope that Linux Mint will save me all the download time/bandwidth and get me started with a stable and functional system that allows me to play my music and movies immediately. Of course I hope it recognises my graphics card as well… but if Ubuntu can’t, while will Mint?

Anyway… the reason why this is a half-hope, because I’m not too sure it Mint will be the answer to my Linux quest. I’m just ready to experiment with it…

And so therefore I wait… 18% has downloaded. Another 1.5 hrs to go.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

