jump to navigation

Strike three: Is Linux Mint out? November 17, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Linux, Linux Mint, Other Distros, Working on Linux.
trackback

(latest update: I tried Linux Mint 2.1 and it’s working fine on my desktop. I got the .iso’s without problem. Install report is here)

Well… after four hours of downloading, the .iso of Linux Mint 2.0 has crashed again. I just closed the window and I’m hoping that Windows Explorer 7 does a better job in managing my download. I seem to remember that Windows tends to cache the download and if we download again, it will start from where we left off… I’m hoping that this is true.

Why the problem? My guess is that Linux Mint is hosted in a poor server with limited bandwidth and can’t take the load. But this is the third time I’ve been unable to get this distro to even download properly!

I guess, this is strike three. But I’m giving Linux Mint more time because I like the idea of an Ubuntu with all the bells and whistles needed. However, this kind of download service is just driving me crazy. A huge huge disappointment!

Comments»

1. ollysk2 - November 19, 2006

Can I make a suggestion? Why not install Ubuntu, and then use Automatix to install all of the codecs and whatnot? Gives you the same effect as Linux Mint, but without the headaches (and Automatix is very easy to use).

-olly

2. NAyK - November 19, 2006

To Ollysk2: Hey thanks! However I have one practical problem. I have limited downloads (India-what to do) through the ISP I use at home (which is where I want the linux-Ubuntu with codecs etc. So even if I was to use Automatix, it would shoot my download limits through the roof. Too expensive proposition. But I didn’t know about Automatix… so I might test it out on my office computer. Thanks again.

3. Redoscar3 - November 20, 2006

I had the same problem as you did. After several attempts to download from the mirrors listed on Distrowatch, I used Google and found the following alternative mirror. Also, the md5sum checked out with the value posted on a different site.

I was able to successfully download the latest Linux Mint from the following URL:

http://linux.softpedia.com/get/System/Operating-Systems/Linux-Distributions/Linux-Mint-17252.shtml

Hope this helps.

Red

4. NAyK - November 20, 2006

To Redoscar3: They thanks for this suggestion. I tried it but the link didn’t work. Then I went to softpedia directly and the Linux Mint .iso download just wouldn’t work. perhaps even that is overloaded at the moment. I’ll wait for the hype to decrease and try again.

5. Redoscar3 - November 20, 2006

Sorry the Softpedia site didn’t work for you. Perhaps I just got lucky that day. Have you looked to see if a torrent exists for Linux Mint?

I haven’t actually used my Linux Mint yet. After visiting your site, I decided to download and play with Elive for a while. I’m running it at the moment (as a live CD) and think I might install to a machine for more experimentation. I used to run E16 years ago under Libranet but got away from it when I switched to Mepis 3.3.

Anyway, thanks for the nudge about Elive and good luck on finding a copy of Linux Mint.

Red

6. Redoscar3 - November 20, 2006

It’s me again. I tried the Softpedia site this morning (10AM EST in the US) and the mirror was able to initiate a very fast download. I’m surprised you are having trouble snagging it.

I’d keep trying Softpedia if I were you or look for a torrent.

Red

7. NAyK - November 20, 2006

To Redoscar3: I’m currently downloading Ubuntu 6.10 (I was avoiding this because I don’t like GNOME… but things haven’t quite worked out for me through Kubuntu/Xubuntu). I’ll start Linux Mint on Softpedia next. Probably got it at a bad time… or maybe my own internet connection was in some hocus-pocus mode! Thanks again.

8. jim - February 4, 2007

the new linux mint 2.2 is going to be really good for those that like the opensuse layout but want to use an ubuntu like distro

9. Greime Smith - September 3, 2007

All the linux forums are full of people jumping up and down about a distro of their liking. Here too, they not only jump up and down for a distro for long but jump sideways to other distro and start the exercise all over again. Like it or not, not even one percent people have guts to work completely on Linux or any other OS (barring MAC). Somewhere they secretly or openly use Windows of Bill Gates. Let us not forget that. In 2007 there are 150 plus distros. In 2020 there will be 500. But there will be one Windows for all.


Leave a Reply

