jump to navigation

Fully-Loaded with Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft+ November 23, 2006

Posted by NAyK in First Impressions, Flash 9, Linux, Ubuntu, Working on Linux.
trackback

It wasn’t easy, but now my Ubuntu 6.10 loaded with Automatix, finally gives me almost everything that I could need to work at the office.

1. I have printer access.

2. I have network access.

How did I get here? Well, I installed network manager through Automatix, but that didn’t work. Then I installed a KDE application, that didn’t work. Then I installed some samba stuff, whatever I thought looked interesting… most of it was random (appeal to the eye/sense installs)… and then I went through connect server in Ubuntu and finally everything worked. Took about 1.5 hours.

(updated on 21 November: I didn’t check the wifi connection and guess what? When I tried it, it DIDN’T work. And I have no idea how to get it to work. I have tried installing all wifi managers I know, and it’s still not working. In fact, I can see that there is a wifi signal, I’m just not able to connect to it. Anyway…)

3. I have most of the multimedia codecs, to play movies/music etc.

(The only thing I don’t have right now is Flash 9. I tried it through many means, but it still didn’t work.)

4. Of course I have internet access.

5. I think most of my graphics capabilities are enabled (though I doubt I’ll be able to do 3D, but I may try later).

6. I have the system configured to my taste… I really like the left sidebar, and I’ve put links to what I want. It already feels more intuitive and userfriendly than Windows.

What I don’t have.

1. Like I said earlier, I don’t have Flash 9.

2. But more importantly, my sound is very soft, unlike in Windows. (update: I found out I needed to keep pressing the keyboard’s volume control to get it high, even though Ubuntu’s visual volume control showed full. I wonder, if that was the problem in SUSE too?) So, if I was playing movies, or even music, the sound is barely audible. I’ve tried all the settings I know, but still it’s the same. I faced a similar problem with openSUSE, but I thought it was only a SUSE thing. I just assumed that other distro’s would be better… so I didn’t test Linux sound on my Lenovo laptop. Now, with everything enabled, I still feel like there’s something missing. But no matter, Ubuntu’s sound is marginally better than openSUSE here… and I don’t need to use too much of sound stuff anyway. Interestingly, the system sound (the test sound is a beeeep) is ok. Just the rich sounds are problematic.

How do I feel?

Well I’m feeling quite excited with having a solid system here. Already I feel I can show it off etc. I think I’m now going to work primarily on Ubuntu for a while, and get a more true-to-life feel with this distro. Let’s see how that goes.

And finally, I hope I will be able to shift from “working ON linux” to “working WITH linux”.

Comments»

1. jr - December 13, 2006

FYI: I had the same problem with the sound card, the way that I fixed it was by right-clicking the sound icon in the top right hand of the screen and then selecting Preferences. In that box, I could select the sound card to to operate- which fixed the problem.

– JR
http://www.johnrays.com

2. jayman - December 14, 2006

Automatix Rocks! — Wish Ubuntu just came configured with all of the goodies, it really makes Ubuntu more than usuable (I have since deleted windows)

3. alex - August 3, 2007

Hello,

where can I get this wonderful wallpaper with the tower on the field?

4. alex - August 3, 2007

please send me a link…

Thanks

damienmdk@yahoo.de

5. NAyK - August 4, 2007

Hey Alex: the link to the wallpaper is: http://kde-look.org/content/show.php/Th_URch?content=37932

Hope that helps.


Leave a Reply

