jump to navigation

A Review of another Ubuntu Review November 29, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Article Watch, Linux, Ubuntu.
trackback

I just read this review of a respected spokesperson within the Linux field. This Jem Matzan review’s premise is simple. Ubuntu is the best “free” distro there is. But it doesn’t match up with commercial distros.

Now I find it interesting that Matzan feels that Ubuntu is better than openSUSE and Mandriva 2007. And so far, I would think he is actually correct. From personal experiences, Ubuntu has worked really well with Lenovo Thinkpad.

Most importantly, I differ from Matzan in that my ATI drivers work pretty well with Ubuntu. I had no problems using Ubuntu from LiveCD stage to installation on my Lenovo Z60m… and either it’s a problem with the T series, or maybe it’s just that I was lucky. But still, I’ve had no problems with the Lenovo and my Ubuntu.

A support company need not make money by simply fixing a buggy system. It can make money by providing a good distro that people want, and then helping those people maximize the potential of that system for the user’s needs

I agree with Matzan that Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy’s brown “look”, though strangely similar (read same) to Ubuntu 6.04 Dapper, it is still vastly better than the typical BLUES that you get to see in the Linux landscape. perhaps Blue is the most generically attractive colour of them all. But since when was Linux generically attractive?

Finally I affirm that there is a lot of work that remains to be done in Ubuntu, and of course that’s what the Linux world is about. I’ve been using Linux exclusively for a few days and the amount of discomfort I’ve had reminds me of my Windows 95 days… which in hindsight were terrible, but when I was going through them, they were the “best” days.

Anyway… a short comment on Matzan’s comment on Canonical’s commercial policy. Matzan suggests that a company cannot create a perfect distro if it intends to offer paid support. While that makes sense on one level, there are lot of “idiots” out there who can reck a perfect distro. Plus, support is not simply fixing bugs, but also finding solutions (even alternative solutions) to common/uncommon tasks. what I’m trying to say is that a company need not make money with simply fixing a buggy system. It can make money by providing a good distro that people want, and then helping those people maximise the potential of that system for the user’s needs.

Idealistic? I don’t think so. After all, isn’t this “humanity for all.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

