jump to navigation

Returning to Windows: some post-Linux reflections November 29, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Discussions-Conclusions-Hopes, Linux, Ubuntu, Windows, Working with Linux.
trackback

I never expected to be surprised by the obvious. After using Ubuntu/Linux exclusively for a few, I returned (inadvertently) to Windows XP… and found a new perspective to Windows XP. Some wi-fi problems I had with Ubuntu, I had with Windows. Some printing issues I had using Ubuntu, I also had with Windows. And as it turns out… an OS is as good as the software/hardware that it uses. If the peripherals don’t work well, the greatest OS is left ineffective. Working with two operating systems sure puts things in perspective

With that said, I must say that I was surprised how many errors occur in Windows, most of which I have no idea what is happening and how to solve them.

One thing I noticed that Windows was really slow on my Lenovo Thinkpad z60m. Ubuntu wasn’t Seabiscuit, but it was interesting to see that Windows was slower! I think that’s partly because Lenovo/IBM have put so much software onto the machine by default that it takes a long time to start up. Regardless, this was the first time I found myself complaining about Windows’ speed and giving Ubuntu/Linux higher points.

as it turns out… an OS is as good as the software/hardware that it uses. If the peripherals don’t work well, the greatest OS is left ineffective.Working with two operating systems sure puts things in perspective.

Another thing I noticed was that software uploads are a real pain. I needed to update my Adobe suite, and Windows seemed to be confused or bothered. I was not able to do too many other things while updating, and plus I had to boot up about three times!!! Consider Ubuntu/Linux updates. I never need to reboot, except once I think when I loaded something that changed the kernel! And of course I can happily work on anything on linux while updates are going on. Again points to Ubuntu/Linux. I guess while this repository/dependencies things is one of Linux’ problems, it is also it’s strength, in that there is a controlled space for downloads/updates etc.

Another problem I faced using Windows today was that while I was rebooting, I found the BLUE-SCREEN… but it continued to reboot. I was scared, obviously. But now that it is working I’m trusting that everything is working. Why am I saying this? Well, even Ubuntu/Linux has its scary moments that don’t give the user any comforts. There are many problems I have no idea how to solve. But it’s interesting that I forgot even Windows has that. Somehow, using Windows, you forget how many problems you take for granted each day.

I found the music manager equally difficult… ie. if I used Windows Media player, I couldn’t even get it to play radio. And i-Tunes would play only one station that I wanted. This is similar to Ubuntu. Maybe it’s the radio stations, but I don’t want to ever blame Ubuntu for bad support.

One thing I missed using Windows was the multiple desktops (virtual desktops). Being a thing-in-its-place kinda guy, I like the management control of virtual desktops and wished that windows had it.

But one thing I really enjoyed having in Windows was the all-powerful task-manager (that comes up with CTRL-ALT-DEL). I used it only once today, but when I did I knew it was more powerful than the Linux counterpart. I really miss it’s power in Linux (and yes you do need it in Linux).

Another thing irritating me about Windows… or more particularly Symantec AntiVirus-Firewall is that my OEM license expires in another few days (Dec 6 to be precise). After that I’ll have to buy a programme that I shouldn’t actually need, but I do. I can’t buy it, for many reasons. And so I’ll have to install AVG free and probably ZoneAlarms. While both these free alternatives are good, I think, Zone has given me problems in my desktop, and so I’m a little scared that it’ll mess up my Windows machine. And considering I don’t have the stupid Windows CDs which I SHOULD HAVE HAD on a notebook I BOUGHT!!! I can’t risk losing Windows. What should I do? What should I do? Such questions should never have to be asked for legit software users… but I guess, this is the Windows world.

More power to Linux.

Comments»

1. PisapiaG - November 29, 2006

I was starting to have problems with both ZoneAlarm Pro and Norton AV. Ditched them both and replaced them with Comodo as the firewall and Avira as the Anti-virus. Both were recommended by PCMag and both are free (as in free beer). The machine seems spiffier since then.

2. laosboyme - November 30, 2006

But one thing I really enjoyed having in Windows was the all-powerful task-manager (that comes up with CTRL-ALT-DEL). I used it only once today, but when I did I knew it was more powerful than the Linux counterpart. I really miss it’s power in Linux (and yes you do need it in Linux).

ehem..you just need to add force quit on the panel

One thing I missed using Windows was the multiple desktops (virtual desktops). Being a thing-in-its-place kinda guy, I like the management control of virtual desktops and wished that windows had it.

Almost all Unix-like systems use the X Window System to provide their windowing environment. The X Window System is unique in that the decoration, placement, and management of windows is handled by a separate, replaceable program known as a window manager. From the beginning, this separation permitted a fierce contest in window manager features. This resulted in the early development of virtual desktop capabilities in X, and many of today’s X window managers now include virtual desktop capabilities.

Configurations range from as few as two desktops to several hundred. The most popular desktop environments, GNOME and KDE, use multiple virtual desktops (four by default). Some window managers, like FVWM, offer separate “desks” that allow the user to organize applications even further. For example, a user may have separate desks labeled “Work” and “Home”, with the same programs running on both desks, but fulfilling different functions.

3. laosboyme - November 30, 2006
4. NAyK - December 1, 2006

to laosboyme: yes… I tried force quit before but it didn’t seem powerful enough when there was a whole system problem… but that was in the beginning. now I feel more confident. Will re-enable it and try again. though I don’t want anything to crash in a hurry. :)

5. liquidat - December 8, 2006

Nice review, shows an interesting (and honest) point of view.
About the Antivir-stuff: I think you go quite well with Avira. And if you configure the windows firewall right (block all incoming ports) you shouldn’t run into problems from there – more important is to be careful what e-mail attachments you open and which web sites you are visiting.

6. JRB Tech - January 5, 2007

Someone please talk me into giving Ubuntu another try! AHH! My rain can’t make up it’s mind!

7. regcure - September 2, 2008

regcure…

can been used to repair registry altered by malware; The registry monitor utility can been used to repair any change of important registry keys and values with real time….


Leave a Reply

