jump to navigation

Norton Expires–So What? Unto us AVG is born! December 7, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Software, Windows.
trackback

…AVG is a free alternative virus scanner. Rating: Excellent.

Well as some of you may have been aware that if you buy a notebook it usually comes loaded with a Windows OEM and also perhaps a Norton OEM. Well my Lenovo Z60m Thinkpad did. These two big-guns in the software market sure knew how to product place their stuff!

Well, my travails with Windows OEM were partially helped by QParted… that helped me partition my preloaded Windows (which was loaded in the only partition!!!) and become more productive for both Windows and Linux.

I’ve been using AVG on my desktop for quite a while now (for over a year)… and it has given me no problems… detected all the viruses that I think have tried to come in etc.

And tomorrow my Norton Anti-Virus/Firewall expires. I must say that I haven’t been too disapointed with Norton while using it… it seems to have gotten less intrusive… and even a little faster (update: No! No! No! No! it’s not faster. I didn’t realise that I hadn’t done a full system check, but just before uninstalling I decided to do a full scan and it took almost 1.5 HOURS… and it hadn’t even finished! I reached 85 minutes and gave up). Automatic updates never worked in Norton (regardless of the update setting). I had to manually update everyday. But all that is a thing of the past. I even tried to see where I could purchase a license of Norton… just out of curiosity… and it is not even available in my country! So there you go. No more norton for me. (update: I tried uninstalling Norton and it hung my computer twice. I then realised that you probably have to disable everything in Norton first, stop service, and then uninstall. I now have the beast off my back).

I tried uninstalling Norton and it hung my computer twice. I then realised that you probably have to disable everything in Norton first, stop service, and then uninstall. I now have the beast off my back

I’ve been using AVG on my desktop for quite a while now (for over a year)… and it has given me no problems… detected all the viruses that I think have tried to come in etc. Of course I know in Windows I need to be careful regardless of what antivirus programme I use; but for security purposes I have done well enough with AVG. So that’s what I will be installing on my Lenovo. Tomorrow.

Of course with Norton expiry I lose both an anti virus and a firewall. That’s a shame… because AVG’s firewall is not free.

I’m very scared of trying Zonealarm for my firewall, because it messed up my desktop twice! But maybe that won’t happen with the free version? Hmmm… I don’t know if I have the guts to try again.

For now I’ll just trust my company firewall… and hope for the best with Windows Firewall.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

