jump to navigation

SUSE 9.3 Nostalgia December 7, 2006

Posted by NAyK in First Impressions, Linux, OpenSUSE.
trackback

And just to remind me of the openSUSE 9.3 look which I really-really miss (what a beautiful sight it was when I first saw this on my computer)… here are two screenshots. Ah, the bliss!

openSUSE 9.3 openSUSE 9.3

Sadly, openSUSE 10.2 opted for the done-to-death blue paradigm. Hmphf! So much for alternatives! However this article interestingly proposes that 10.2 is as seminal a release as SUSE 9.3. The author states:

“In fact, I was so disappointed by SUSE 10.0 and 10.1 that I gave serious consideration to changing to another distribution entirely … When openSUSE 10.2 was released in December, I approached it with a combination of hope and trepidation. However, after performing an extended amount of testing, I can conclusively state that it’s the first release I’ve seen in several years that’s worthy of succeeding SUSE 9.3 as the centerpiece of my testing network.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

