jump to navigation

A love note to Desktop OS: from Linux December 10, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Article Watch, Discussions-Conclusions-Hopes, Linux.
trackback

This post is written in response to this letter. If you haven’t read it, read that first. It’s a blast!

Dear dear Desktop OS,

Oh dear sweet friend. I felt so sad when I read your letter. I’m so sad that you felt misunderstood by me, and let me tell you straight away, I love you, I love you, I love you.

I don’t want to ever let you think that I don’t care about you, and I’m so sorry that you feel this way. And let me tell you, I will always love you and never let you go. I hope that you will not lose faith in me.

But I feel the need to answer some of your concerns in your letter, because I think that will be respecting you. So here is my reply, my love, please understand that I am not justifying myself, but letting you know that I care for you, and you are very very important to me.

>>>I think it’s time we had a talk, you and I.

Yes even I think so, but I feel we are already talking and I hope that you don’t think that I stopped talking to you for one bit. My ears are always open to any concern you may have sweet one.

>>>(About our relationship) I was never the one talking about us. Everyone else was.
It hurts me to hear you say this since it was you who wanted this relationship so badly. You were so upset with Windows and said that I was the answer to all your problems. Remember, you told me that you wanted security, and a bit more excitement, and you said you wanted my help to make you look better?

>>>Sure, your greasy, neckbearded friends Slashdot and Digg want to see us together, but I have to live my life, to watch out for me. I am not them.

But Desktop, I thought that’s exactly why you came to me in the first place. Windows was the rich-brat who didn’t care for your needs and only about making more money. You wanted love, and nurture, you wanted to be understood and supported… you wanted to meet someone more friendly. Isn’t that what attracted you to me in the first place? My friends, I thought were most supportive. But let me not justify them. I know some of them are weird, but as you yourself admitted, they were the strength behind our relationship. They helped us, supported our relationship in every way, especially in your difficult days with Windows 98/ME.

>>>And you know what Linux? We’re not meant to be together. We’re just not. You’d have a chance at dating my friend, Server Market, but me? Or maybe even Embedded Device Market, but I’m guessing you see yourself as bigger than that, and besides, she’s small and dirty and has an uncertain future. But regardless, I just don’t see myself with you.

This hurt me the most, dear friend, but I understand. You’re jealous with my popularity. The server market is doing so well with me, but let me tell you. Server is very good friend to me. But it is my friendship with Server Market that has led me to you. She knows my love for you, and even encourages it. You are the one I love, the one I adore. I want you in my life. The Embedded Device Market? But I thought we were doing that together? Weren’t we? Where you go, I will go? Isn’t that what we decided?

>>>And let me be clear: this isn’t just for now because Windows hurt me in the past and I need time alone, time to read books, be with my cat, build fires, and take long winter walks. No, I mean forever. I don’t ever see us being together, and you need to understand that.

I know, I know. It’s that other guy Windows Vista. He’s come into the picture and he’s trying to woo you back in. You think you will finally have everything you want in him. I don’t think you will be spending much time alone. You really want someone with more support and who is more famous. … (repenting) Oh, I’m so sorry Desktop OS Market, I’m so sorry I said that. I don’t want to remind you of the pain you went through with Windows, and I don’t want to question you, but the fact is that you yourself said that if you will not be with me you will go back to Windows.

>>>Here’s the hard part: it’s not me, it’s you. You’re esoteric. You’re hard to use and understand and troubleshoot, even when you wear that funky but stylish Ubuntu shirt. Nobody really, truly supports you. Those applications I like? The ones that I use every single day and to which I’m totally accustomed? Well, you don’t have those, and your “equivalents” aren’t equivalent at all: the GUIs are a ugly mishmash of Windows-esqe and new metaphors, every name starts with “g” or “k”, and the learning curve isn’t something I want to deal with. Sorry, sorry. I told myself I’d keep emotion out of this, but it’s hard.

You’re right. After my earlier rant against Windows, you have the right to rant against me as well. It’s true I’m not perfect. And right now, compared to XP and Vista, I don’t seem to stand a chance. But you forget what attracted to you to me was not the present situtation but the future my love, the future. When we would live in freedom. Remember you told me that even though Windows is fully supported, he keeps you in a cage? He doesn’t allow you to dress in the way you want, to do the things you want to do? Didn’t you say that you were excited with the freedom that our relationship gave you? We could do anything together? Don’t you remember are Suse 9.3 days. Didn’t we paint the town beautifully green? Then don’t you remember our latest 3D experiments where we beat the socks out of Vista, even with common hardware? Weren’t they exciting times for you?

>>>Look, it’s been said before that you and I don’t have much of a future, and it’s time we start staring that fact square in the eye. I’m OK with Windows, no matter how much it has hurt me with its annoying insecurity, schizophrenic instability, and difficulty to let itself be managed by the average user. I think I’ll wind up falling in love with Vista, to be honest, Linux.

There you go, I guess I wasn’t wrong after all. There is another guy. You’ve fallen for Vista. Well, I can’t blame you. He has more money, and he seems to be the more stable person around. Fine, if that is your choice. But let me tell you that Vista had come to me for help. He saw what I was doing and learned from me as well. But let me also say this; what made you fall in love with me will never change. I will never keep you in a cage. I will never give you a life of insecurity, or false promises. And if something goes wrong with you… I will never charge you $1000 to get you help.

>>>Yes, I know Vista is Windows all over again, but he’s way more mature now. You’d like him if you gave him a chance, but no, you think you’re so much better than him, and really, you’re not. Not to me, at least, and I’m pretty much the vast majority, so what I like and use winds up dominating.

Yes yes, I know. I do think I am better than Windows. Not currently in your eyes, evidently. But I definitely have something to offer. And something Vista will never have. Yes it promises stability, and I must say that I did like Windows XP. I learned much from him as well. But let me tell you that I’m not going to stay like this. I am improving each day. All my friends are helping me get better. There is more support, more stability, more fun.

>>>and Mac OSX, and my God, sometimes I can’t stop thinking about him. He’s good-looking, sleek, stable, secure, and very innovative. He has a good job, drives a nice car, reads good books.

Mac. Yes, yes. He’s my brother. We’re almost identical in the core, but we look different. I would prefer you go with Mac than with Vista. But that of course is your choice.

>>>We’re going nowhere, you and I. We never really have been, no matter what anyone says. And we never will be. Goodbye, Linux.

No Desktop OS Market, no. I remember you telling me that if you ever leave me, I am to stop you. Because you said that you were shifty and could change at any moment. And you said that for your own good, I should not let you go, otherwise ‘god knows’ what will happen to you! I remember you telling me that. So you may say goodbye Desktop OS Market, but I’ll be there for you. I’m going to do my best to make your world a better place. I will give you your space. And all the love you need. And if you crash and burn in Windows, you know I will always be waiting for you.

All the best in your current relationship with Vista. May things go well. But wait and see, I will have a better home ready for you when you return.

With love and more love,

Yours always,

Linux.

Comments»

1. Jeff Ventura - December 10, 2006

Very well done. I’m thinking about a response, how to do it, etc. Nice work though!

2. Top Linux News » Flashback: Linux’s love note to Desktop (an exchange) - November 10, 2007

[…] read more | digg story […]


Leave a Reply

