jump to navigation

Strike One! Fedora .iso problems December 29, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Fedora, Linux.
trackback

As I wanted to enter the world of Fedora, I had to beat a hasty retreat, not out of choice, but the .iso files just wouldn’t work (only one did). In fact I had two Magazine DVD sources for the .iso files, but both ended up giving me errors. Only Disk#4 worked.

Sadly, I was so looking forward to this… but the reason I’ve still not worked on Fedora yet is that my earlier attempt was cut short by .iso problems as well.

(The terror dvds with the problem iso were on CHIP-India Magazine and PC-World. Don’t they test the files before giving it to their customers!!!)

Ok… ok… that last comment was a rant. No need to. They must test a file, but to make copies upon copies, some error must have occured.

I then tried downloading Fedora Disk #1 from one of the metalink, and guess what? I completed the download, burned it onto the disk… and that is giving errors again. And just for those who think that there is something with my burner, this time I tried burnind and testing on another computer (my laptop). Hmm.

Anyway, now I’m not sure what to do. I wish I could get LinuxFormat (in response to the comment), but being in a land where we don’t get that magazine, that option is out. Anyway, I’m not going to give up. But certainly my quest to enter the world of Fedora has been indefinitely delayed.

Comments»

1. Mig - December 29, 2006

If you can get your hands on a copy of January’s Linux Format (released in the UK midway through December and last week in Oceania) there is a two-sided dvd in the mag – one side Fedora Core 6 with mega extras, on the other side is Ubuntu 6.10 (also with mega extras)

Might save you the download time – Fedora isos ain’t small

2. NAyK - December 29, 2006

To Mig: Thanks for the comment, Mig, but we don’t get LinuxFormat in India. The two magazines I mentioned are both Indian publicatons, they’re expensive, I got them solely for the Linux Fedora 6, but they ended up with bad files. I can’t even do anything about that!!! *grrr*

3. Anonymous - January 3, 2007

You’re not the only one, Redhat.com/fedora/ gave me crappy iso’s as well as a mirror on their site, i have lost faith in fedora. Ubuntu here i come.

4. Chris - February 24, 2007

A problem which you discuss on your site is very important for me. Thank you for your resume.


Leave a Reply

