jump to navigation

Searchmash.com: an early report on this ‘new’ search engine January 3, 2007

Posted by NAyK in First Impressions, Internet, Recommendation, Reviews.
trackback

I know it’s been around for some time, but searchmash is a really cool (google-based) search engine. I’ve used it for a while now, but only as an ‘alternative’ search engine. However, this google initiative is so cool that upon more use it’s making google’s traditional search look like a dinosaur! So why isn’t google just replacing itself with searchmash? Because, I think, it’s got something to do with testing and trying without confusing testing results with google’s own primary search interface. More importantly, they’re trying to see how searchmash functions without being influenced by google branding. Well, the only reason I used searchmash was that it was a google-product… and well, whether one way or another, I want google to look like this!

Regarding search results, I’ve never found searchmash show-up less views than google (ie. I think it’s using the same (or better?) algorithm). Also, it’s really fast!

It’s extra features are really functional and helpful. Thus, for ‘blogging’ purposes, it integrates blogging search in a non-intrusive and even helpful way. For instance, I wanted to research a topic, and it showed up on the main search. However, on the right side, I saw that there were blog’s on this topic as well, and I was able to pursue them as well. Wow.

The other features worth mentioning are the hiding/showing search details and (infinite) scrolling which is actually more useful than it sounds (especially because it’s so fast).

I still feel it’s interface is not the best. The purple look is ok, but I don’t know if it’s just me, but the font display seems a little smaller than normal google results… or at least this display is not as readable as google.com search results.

Still, I would recommend that more people start using searchmash as their primary search engine. It may change into something better soon, but for now it’s good enough to use.

Verdict: Excellent forward movement from the search leader.

For further info see this article.

For other views see this post, or this one.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

