jump to navigation

openSUSE 10.2 gets another glowing review January 9, 2007

Posted by NAyK in Article Watch, Linux, OpenSUSE, Recommendation, Reviews.
trackback

…and I agree.

Browsing through the linux forums leads us in interesting places. Right now, there’s a review doing the rounds by Eric Hall.

What caught my attention was this quote:

“In fact, I was so disappointed by SUSE 10.0 and 10.1 that I gave serious consideration to changing to another distribution entirely … When openSUSE 10.2 was released in December, I approached it with a combination of hope and trepidation. However, after performing an extended amount of testing, I can conclusively state that it’s the first release I’ve seen in several years that’s worthy of succeeding SUSE 9.3 as the centerpiece of my testing network.”

I really liked 9.3 and now I’m really having a blast with 10.2. So, well… I agree! Of course the reviewer is talking more from the hardware/server level, which is way beyond my expertise. However, I like the comparison between 9.3 and 10.2 and so I incorporate it here.

But not everything is glowing in the review. And particularly something I understand as well. He says:

One other unfortunate condition in openSUSE 10.2 is that the fonts don’t look as good as they did under 10.1. Whereas the previous release used the Bitstream Vera font family by default, that font isn’t even included in the default installation of 10.2 (it’s on the DVD but you have to manually install it). Worse, the font that is embedded into the SUSE applications and menu is jagged and unreadable, and it cannot be changed since it’s embedded. This is a minor complaint, but its one of those things that you run into every time you use the system, so it grates on you.

This is something I’ve found frustrating, especially in KDE, since GNOME’s font’s rendering is better than KDE. Don’t ask me how, I’m no expert. But it’s interesting to hear someone else say something similar.

Read full review here.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

