jump to navigation

Remote Desktop Connect (RDC) works on openSUSE 10.2 Linux January 10, 2007

Posted by NAyK in How-To, Linux, OpenSUSE, Software, Ubuntu, Windows, Working with Linux.
trackback

Until a few minutes ago, I didn’t know, and I didn’t need Remote Desktop Connect or Desktop Sharing (as it is called). But then I just saw a friend use rdc on Windows to connect from my home (windows xp) computer to his office (windows xp) computer. Basically, with Remote Desktop, the entire system, with full operating system et al, was shown on my screen, without downloads. Hence he could browse his own work, through his own programmes. I was impressed. Since I was trying to convert him to Linux, the question was whether we could do the same in Linux. It turns out that you can. Here is the how-to result.

There are two technologies for doing remote desktop connections, one is RDC, and one is VPN. I’m not sure about either, and there may be more, but I used RDC to connect.

Step One: To connect to a windows-based system, the Windows XP system must have remote desktop enabled, found my “My Computer” Properties. Also, find out the computer’s unique internet static ip address (it should not be under a office network, because I think office networks are dynamic addresses).

Step Two: Then, if one wants to access that entire Windows based system using Linux (openSuSE), we need to use the krdc (remote desktop connection) tool. ie. Using “run” type krdc

KRDC is found in Menu/System/Network

Step Three. In the Remote Desktop dialogue box that opens, type rdc:/(your computer’s ip address). So the dialogue will read something like rdc:/123.23.24.12 (ie. whatever is your ip address). Press <Connect>

Step Four: A screen will open asking you for the resolution/colour depth you prefer. The default is 800×600 which is not so bad.

Step Five: An establishing connection screen will open up. and if all configurations are right (as mine were), it will connect to a 800×600 vision of your computer. You will probably have to login to your windows-based account. Cool, huh?

Anyway, one thing is that the graphics display is a little slow, but maybe that’s because openSUSE has not enabled my ATI 3D graphics drivers. I’m waiting for a more official way of doing it rather than hacking.

Also, I don’t know if I can do the same from Windows (probably not), but I also don’t know how to enable my openSUSE to connect to other hosts. But at least a one way connection is exciting!

A suse-based starter article is here. However, I later found another article which is Ubuntu based but seems to be more feature rich, using VNC protocol. It’s exciting enough to try. Will do so  on a later stage, because, with a VNC player, I can access my ubuntu system on my home Windows desktop. Wow!

Comments»

1. E@zyVG - January 11, 2007

I prefer to use FreeNX – full access to your graphical desktop. It is easily installed on SUSE, and then you simply use nxMachines NX client, avaiable freely from their website for Windows, Linux and OS X, to connect to your linux box.

Give it a try … here is an old link for SUSE 10.1 (you’ll love the raw speed, even on low bandwidth connections):

http://linux.wordpress.com/2006/06/14/accessing-my-home-linux-desktop-using-freenx-from-my-new-office/

2. Mihir - February 12, 2007

Thanks for the suggestion
Steps we have followed(for suse Linux10.0):
1.Installed rdesktop for rdp kind of connection
2.Installed kdnetwork for krdc

We had two option for connection: rdp and vnc…
can anyone plese explain what r these?????

3. Diff@Rent - September 26, 2007

I wanna Establish The RDC between A Server based on Linux Operating System and a client Based on Windows Operating Syatem.
But Could Not Do the Same…Is There Any Method To Make The RDC between The Two Machines Having Different OS And That Too From The Different Vendors.
As the Linux Is Based On the Lot Of Command Works.and Windows IS totally a UI And Is Very User Friendly…
Help Me …I dont Know Any of the Linux Commands..nor I know How To Work On Linux..
Please Suggest Me a Method Dat i Could Understand And Easy to Use And Deploy.

4. Penny - June 14, 2010

I think default (Free) remote desktop applications are limited in features. I always use RHUB’s (www.rhubcom.com) remote desktop appliance to control my clients’ PCs in USA and I am in UK. It has lots of advanced features like remote reboot, multi party access, sending Ctl+Alt+Del keys to the remote computer and so on. It’s simply good.


Leave a Reply

