jump to navigation

Ubuntu ‘Feisty Fawn’ Installation: impressions April 26, 2007

Posted by NAyK in First Impressions, How-To, Linux, OpenSUSE, Recommendation, Reviews, Screenshots, Ubuntu, Working on Linux, Working with Linux.
trackback

The following are just some impressions of events during my installation of Ubuntu “Feisty Fawn” 7.04 on my Desktop. The aim is not to be thorough, but to just give a sample perspective of what an installer might face while installing the new (and nice) distro.

Interestingly, I installed the latest Ubuntu not because I needed it, but simply because I wanted it. That’s partly because I’ve been very happy with openSUSE 10.2… and between openSUSE and Windows XP I get all my work done.

Still, how can one resist a new Ubuntu distro? Well I downloaded it through the metalink (the speed continues to amaze me).

When I started installing, I did it without much fanfare or excitement. And sadly, Feisty did not have anything in it to excite me either… not until the *migrate assistant* A window popped up that somehow recognised all my WindowsXP and openSUSE users and asked if I wanted to import their preferences (settings) for a particular login. I checked two preferences and then set up an Ubuntu user… and hoped for (anything).

MigrateUbuntu

I must say that it was a really cool addition, and I wish it will be more finely tuned. When I finally tested it, it only copied the MyDocuments from WindowsXP (and didn’t get anything from openSUSE). Neither did it get my Firefox/IE bookmarks settings. But I guess that’s ok. There is certainly scope here. Perhaps some information on what exactly will be migrated would have made my expectations more realistic.

On other installation events, I did get an error while partitioning. And I’m not sure what it was about. Some error in one of my drives. I “ignored” and “ignored” and “ignore” about five times and then it let me move on.

UbuntuError

The installation was the usual “copy to disk” procedure that took a long time… but that’s only relative to the speed of some other Linux distros (obviously nothing in comparison to Windows XP, or even multi-disk Linux distros like openSUSE).

When the system finally installed… and rebooted… I logged on to the user that I had created for migration (excited to see what exactly happened). I learned later on that the migrated user is NOT an ADMIN. Thus, sudo etc does not work. It’s a limited account, and you must log-in to the admin user account that is not related to the migration. It’s no big deal, but I had to learn this after going to a forum. The link for this problem and solution are here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=421791

Then came the other cool thing about the new Ubuntu. It loads the proprietary drivers as and when you need them. So I needed “flash” for a page, and viola! it asked if I wanted to install the driver and it did it! It even installed Flash 9! Which is cool.

flashagree

However, I tried this same thing with a divx movie and even a DVD. It tried to install the codec, but the movie (and maybe codec) failed to install. It reached to the point of finding the driver for me, but when I installed, it just refused to play the media saying that the codec was missing. I wonder why, but the concept it extremely exciting. Very very good!

Interestingly, I tried to connect to the internet through the live-cd, but it refused to connect. However, I’ve had a very good time with internet connectivity and Ubuntu… and so, I hoped that it would just work when installed the distro (after putting the network details in the live cd network tools). And guess what! It did work!

Also, Ubuntu recognised all the distro’s I was using for GRUB, ie. it rightly located WindowsXP and openSUSE. I’m saying this now, because I’ve come to take Ubuntu’s GRUB management for granted… but actually, not all Linux distro’s do such a good job in locating all the operating systems on the computer and give them a good GRUB boot link. Another good job, there.

ubuntudesktop

The above image is the look I’ve chosen, simply to get rid of the now-too-old brown of Ubuntu. The default Ubuntu look is actually so ‘boring’ one wonders whether any thought went into the design at all. Still, not that my own design is better. And so I’ll probably liven this Ubuntu desktop later. Apart from all this, I have nothing much to report. The installation was relatively painless, even eventless, certainly not bad at all.

Summary: the new Ubuntu looks irritatingly like the old one… but two new innovations are certainly worth watching out for: the migrate assistant and the codec installer. The latter alone (the codec installer) makes it worth installing and trying out “Feisty Fawn”!

Speed: OK, Look-Feel: boring, innovations: worth-checking out. Overall: Good distro to try.

Comments»

1. praval singh - April 27, 2007

Hi friend!

Thanx for such a descriptive post! I currently use an older version of ubuntu{5.04, hoary hedgehog} and wish to migrate to the latest version, fiest fawn. Few questions which popped up in my mind are:
1) What do you mean by metalinks, are these not the normal iso files which i can burn using nero? In which way are these links better than normal d’load links.
2)I use win XP and Ubuntu currently. Installing a newer version shall require me to boot with CD inserted or I can open th new Installation disk once I’m logged on to the current version of Ubuntu? I mean like in WinXP, we can boot with a Cd for installation or start off after loging in by double clicking setup.exe too!

I shall be glad to see you reply.

Thanks in advance!

2. NAyK - April 27, 2007

Hi Praval:

1. A metalink is a download helper, like a bittorrent file (not exactly) that uses multiple links to download a file. For big files like the Ubuntu iso file, a metalink helps increase speed and make it stable. You will need a metalink compatible downloader. For that I use Orbit for that. Basically, Orbit will read the metalink and do a (pretty) fast download as a download manager. The final file that comes out will be a .iso file, so you can use it like you would use any another other .iso file… burn the .iso image onto a CD using NERO or anything. (I would recommend using k3b in linux for burning, though your Ubuntu probably uses another CD burning utility.)

2. About installing proceedure, you should back up your Ubuntu documents on a separate disk (any document worth preserving, but no need for system files). I would recommend that you boot from the new Ubuntu CD and do a fresh install. I guess you know your own hdc number, meaning that disk partition that your Ubuntu is on? Just install your new Ubuntu over the old Ubuntu partition. If you want to try it though, try the migrate assistant, which will (ideally) get document files from Ubuntu and Windows onto a new Ubuntu user account. I tried it with limited success, but it’s worth a go.

I hope all this helps. All the best for your continued working with Linux.

3. praval singh - April 27, 2007

That was an awesome explanation brother!
What is similar to orbit as in Windows XP? I’ve heard of orbit for linux, never tried it though!

thanx again1

4. NAyK - April 27, 2007

to praval:

Orbit is actually a windows XP downloader. Here’s the link:
http://www.orbitdownloader.com/index.htm

And the help-explanation link:
http://www.orbitdownloader.com/Use-as-Metalink-Downloader.htm

There are other managers, but I don’t know of any. Orbit works pretty well for Windows.

* you’re welcome :) *

5. Ant Bryan - April 29, 2007

I’d suggest aria2, GetRight, or Orbit for metalink downloads. There’s a list at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metalink

6. praval - May 3, 2007

Thanx to both of you!

7. Ubuntu Gets Praised, Beautiful Dock Introduced - February 26, 2009

Leave a Reply

