jump to navigation

The Problem with WordPerfect X4: Quick review April 21, 2008

Posted by NAyK in Reviews, Windows, WordPerfect.
trackback

I just tried out the Wordperfect X4 today (as some of you know, I prefer Wordperfect to MS Office as well as StarOffice). However, I was longing for two things… only two… and none of them were present in the new Corel WordPerfect X4 release.

Number 1: There is no option to save in the ODF format. Granted that you can now open an odf file, but it converts to wpd format… which takes ages! I can understand WordPerfect’s desire to focus on pdf, but it’s negligence for the open format is shocking!

Number 2: There is still no information about how many total pages a document has, in the document (default) status. This is the information found below the page, that tells which page number you are on, which line you are on, etc. But if WordPerfect does want to support long documents (I think it is pretty good at that), why can’t we get an information bar that tells me that I’m on page 23/56 (meaning, page 23 out of 56!!!). This lack of a simple basic feature, available in MSOffice (obviously), is so useful, but no one still thinks it is important to put it in.

Anyway… that’s my quick gripe.

So far, trying out WordPerfect X4, it looks and feels exactly the same as WordPerfect X3. That may be a good thing or a bad thing. But thankfully, it opens all my previous X3 documents, therefore I don’t need to complain about that.

Comments»

1. mary - April 26, 2008

hi there,
in my search across the net i can’t find the straighforward answer: is wordperfect simply working on linux, or via wine or sth? Please help, because i think i’ll get to the end of the internet and not find this simple info :(((

2. NAyK - April 26, 2008

to mary: Wordperfect does not have a direct programme for Linux. Of that I am sure about. Currently I use wordperfect in windows; and so since I haven’t used wordperfect in linux via crossover or wine I can’t tell you whether that works. sth? I have no idea what that is.

3. Terry D.W - May 7, 2008

Help me Im installing Wordperfect and . I get ( Wordperfect has not install correctly )

4. Nancy - August 28, 2008

Hi there,
Can wordperfect X4 open Word 2007 documents?

5. NAyK - August 29, 2008

To Nancy: Yup, Wordperfect X4 opens .docx (MS2007) files.

6. Martha Walters - January 23, 2009

Hi there,

I have installed WordPerfect x4 and find it does not open the entire document. The first 20 pages are o.k., then after that it only shows the header and footer. The rest of the page is blank. Anyone else have this problem. If so, How did you solve it? Thanks.

Martha–

Madhukar R. Marur - October 14, 2009

Dear Walters

If you send the file to me I will check that out. I hope I will be able to solve your problem.

Madhukar R. Marur - October 14, 2009

I forgot to give the email.

7. Beverly - December 3, 2009

I have x3 and I get an error message stating 1330.a file cannot be installed? I tried Corel chat – nobody picked up. Also wrote this down

D:\WPOX3\QP chartcab invalid digital signature. I also copied the event log if anyone here can help me and needs to read it.

8. warningbells - December 3, 2009

Is there a way to open two documents in WordPerfect X4 and display one each on separate monitors as you can with Word? It appears that the documents cannot be separated from the WordPerfect work area and therefore are restricted to one monitor.

Bob - December 14, 2009

To warningbells: There is one thing you can do. Open WordPerfect. Double click on the top blue banner to make sure it is not taking the entire screen. Now pull one side of WP over to the other end of the other monitor. Now you have WP spread across both monitors. Now go to the “Window” dropdown and click on “Tile Side by Side.” Now both documents are shown. You can move them around and adjust their size so you have one on one monitor the other on the other monitor. Not as elegant as some other programs, but doable.

9. Bob - December 12, 2009

When I am reviewing a document written by someone else, I frequently insert comments in the middle of sentences and I want to do it in RED type. In older WordPerfect, I could go to QuickFonts, click on one that is red, and begin typing. When I do this in X4, it turns the rest of the document red. Then at the end of my comments, I have to turn the rest of the document black again. This is very irritating.

10. Gordon - March 30, 2010

Can the newer Wordperfects insert photos greater than 27 inches. This was a great nuisance with x3 as it equates to about a 3mp camera and although mine was only a 5mp I had to use irvanview to resize the photo each time.

11. AJ - April 26, 2010

Wordperfect x.4 requires a couple of patches from Corel to work properly with Word 2007 documents. Wordperfect x.5 fully supports Open Office documents. I just put x.5 on one computer, run x.4 on my laptop, and have x.3 on my wife’s computer.

12. Anonymous - June 2, 2010

I have word perfect x4 It will not open. I keep getting “will not respond” messages

help

PG

13. Kish M. Patel - March 29, 2011

I use WordPerfect X4 on regular Windows 7. I have a lot of problem converting my files to PDF and it is very random as to whether it will work or not. I have to keep trying, rebooting and sometimes it will convert it. Can anyone help???

14. Pastor Frank - July 21, 2011

I have a question. In WP x4 I don’t have the same key controls for Bold Italic Save etc. Has this all changed from WP 9??

15. Betty Helf - September 26, 2011

I have used WPX4 for some time now, but just lately have the problem of it freezing up on me while working with long documents, some up to 14 pages in length. The only thing I can do is, Control, Alternate, Delete. Has anyone else had this problem and, if so, found a solution to it?

16. Sandy - October 23, 2011

I am using WPx4 with Vista. Frequently when I try to save a document, I get a message: “Access denied: You do not have rights to do this”. It doesn’t happen every time, but often enough that I’m getting frustrated. Any ideas?

17. Janice - December 14, 2011

I am working on Word Perfect X4 and I have to convert an existing document from Microsoft Word 2010 to Word Perfect X4. It works and then as I editing the document in wpx4 it freezes on me and says: “Word Perfect X4 ahs stopped working. – Check on line for a solution and close program. I am unable to check on line and it just closes the program automatically. Does anyone have this problem and what is your solution.


Leave a Reply

