jump to navigation

Do we really need Crossover? (or using WINE for Dreamweaver 8) June 30, 2008

Posted by NAyK in How-To, Linux, OpenSUSE, Recommendation, Software, Windows, WINE, Working with Linux.
trackback

I had earlier thought that WINE, the (not) emulator that allowed Windows programmes to be used in Linux, was not advanced enough to use on Dreamweaver 8 and so I opted to work with  Crossover 6 for Dreamweaver and Photoshop installations. I had been experimenting with Crossover 6 on my Ubuntu and PCLinux with basic success. But recently, on my newly installed openSUSE 11, I thought I’d try a direct WINE install of Dreamweaver 8, and guess what? It worked. Basically, I clicked the setup.exe file using WINE and the installer did the rest.

Then I decided to install Crossover anyway… why let a license go waste… but I was disappointed that it didn’t integrate the WINE install onto it’s own menu. So instead, I have my Dreamweaver installed in the WINE directory, while my Crossover remains installed but empty.

So, if WINE does the job, why keep Crossover? Of course, I do need to install Photoshop 7 as well… so I’ll wait to bury Crossover only after I install Photoshop 7 (though I have a feeling that I won’t have problems with Photoshop 7). And hold on… my reference to the necessity of Crossover is for programmes like Dreamweaver and Photoshop alone… not other programmes like MS Office or Windows games that I have not tried nor intend to test.

Of course both WINE and Crossover have a buggy implementation of Dreamweaver 8… but that doesn’t mean that I can’t use the programme. For instance, both using Crossover and WINE I find Dreamweaver acting strange… sometimes the menus disappear and setting up sites becomes a bit of a pain with no options to view.. but still there are plenty of workarounds. Then also, <F12> is the command in Dreamweaver for previewing in browser. But now <F12> launches Beagle Search and I have to make my main browser the secondary browser and preview pages with <CTRL> <F9>. Like I said, no big deal.

I was particularly happy that I could continue to use my openSUSE home directory for all my website development rather than the virtual “C” directory that is in some hidden galaxy on my system.

And before I get any comments about this, of course I’ve tried using NVU and Quantas for website editing. And both are good programmes. I haven’t used Bluefish recently (and I actually should install that too)… but I’m sure it’s good too. Blame it to old habits and an expensive license (for Dreamweaver)… I don’t think I want to change habits in a hurry.

ps. I must add however that NVU seems to have improved significantly since I last used it and is more powerful as a web-developer package than I had previously thought.

Comments»

1. Rambo Tribble - June 30, 2008

Kompozer is the current evolution of the NVU code base, so you might give it a look. That said, all the WYSIWYG web editors produce garbage markup; code generators have suffered this flaw for decades and no end is in sight. You might want to look at some of the options like Quanta Plus, Amaya, Bluefish, etc. They require a better understanding of coding practice, but the result is cleaner, more compact and more maintainable code.

2. Anurag Panda - July 5, 2008

Originally posted by naYk:
“I was particularly happy that I could continue to use my openSUSE home directory for all my website development rather than the virtual “C” directory that is in some hidden galaxy on my system”

If you have to frequently use those directories far away from the home directory, especially if you have write permission there. I suggest you create a symbolic link.

ln -s

It would really simplify your work.

3. Anurag Panda - July 5, 2008

Ahem! The command was:

ln -s TARGET LINKNAME

4. Kirby - October 19, 2008

Garbage code using DW? I don’t think so. In DW edit/preferences, just select ‘Use CSS instead of HTML tags.’ Looks clean to me.

5. Bookmarks about Dreamweaver - December 30, 2008

[…] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by HardRocker766 on 2008-12-09 Do we really need Crossover? (or using WINE for Dreamweaver 8) […]


Leave a Reply

