jump to navigation

The Word on WordPress November 9, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Software, Wordpress.
trackback

This will be my first non-Linux entry in this space. And it’s about the very site hosting alternativenayk.

I was very impressed to learn the wordpress.com is built on an opensource software… and it is therefore free for everyone to use and develop.

I moved to wordpress not because it was open source (ie. not for political reasons)… but because it offered better look and features than blogger.com, livejournal, myspace and yahoo360… all of which I have tried.

The things I like best about wordpress are it’s categories, it’s ability to make pages and of course it’s ability to import from other journals (saved me so much work!). This last feature was the clincher.

I don’t like the fact that I have to pay for CSS editing, but then, wordpress guys deserve some credit… and cash is probably a better way to say thankyou. I don’t have the cash, so I’ll just use the second best way; “Thank you wordpress!” :)

OK… so basically, this post celebrates the open source (software) movement that builds amazing products that attract us for non-partisan reasons. And I guess, programmes like these set the standards for the rest of the open source software initiatives out there.

Comments»

1. iXpress.me - November 18, 2008

WordPress is nice indeed. Did you know that you can have the same WordPress blog, just with much more impressive URL too? Just have a look:

http://Joking.Of-Cour.se/

So, what do you think?


Leave a Reply

