jump to navigation

HOW-TO open an exe file in Linux Mint? January 17, 2009

Posted by Nigel Ajay Kumar (NAyK) in How-To, Linux, Linux Mint, WINE.
trackback

wine-logoLinux MintThis is a short post telling users how to open an exe file in Linux Mint. (actually I’m the one who wanted to know and couldn’t really find a direct link that could help me until I stumbled upon this solution so this is for me and people like me).

The answer is simple:
1. Uninstall Wine-doors (it’s a programme that comes with Linux Mint).
2. Ensure that your Wine 1+ is installed (it usually is).
3. Run the exe file by double-clicking!

Basically I use exe files in Linux to test whether they have viruses or not… or simply to extract exe files. So it seems that the Wine-Doors programme in Linux Mint blocks exe execution (or there’s a workaround I don’t know about). But this above solution seems to suit me just fine… since wine is pretty capable as a windows emulator in itself.

Comments»

1. clhodapp - March 1, 2009

That’s strange… I am using the x64 version of Mint and it doesn’t seem to have come with Wine-doors. I installed it though just to test, and can still open .exe’s… strange.

2. Krishnakuar.M - June 17, 2009

1. That’s strange… I am using the x64 version of Mint and it doesn’t seem to have come with Wine-doors. I installed it though just to test, and can still open .exe’s… strange.

3. Anonymous - October 8, 2009

were can i find wine docks i have only just got linux mint

4. Gil - October 10, 2009

Wine works fine with games and ect but will not let you interface with a usb to serial cable to run a ECM controler or a traction ampflier. if you want to play it works fine but it won’t work on a tech’s “working computer”.

5. 2pac-Spain - January 19, 2010

i install wine 1.1.36 and i can’t run the .exe

6. Zoro16 - July 11, 2010

Thank you for you help… But if I can run .exe that mean next time I switchon Linux mint it (.exe) works just like Linux appliction.

Thanks

7. dizis - August 12, 2010

I am using the x64 version of Mint and it doesn’t seem to have come with Wine-door

8. John Goslino - February 25, 2011

Hello all, I have installed Linux Mint 10 on an old PC but can’t resolve the instructions provided here to run a setup.exe file for a wireless network adapter. Wine-doors is not installed as far as I can see (if I am wrong, where is it?), and WINE is not available via package manager or anything else, and did not happen with the command sudo apt-get install wine either, and not being connected to the internet may be an issue as well. Any help appreciated.

9. raj - March 13, 2011

How to uninstall wine-doors program….

10. mayur - May 6, 2011

i have installed mint but i am not getting how to install .exe files ,,,,,,,,,,,,i tried for wine too,,,but it is not working,,,,can you send mr those commands


Leave a comment