jump to navigation

“Why green?” and other questions September 7, 2006

Posted by NAyK in Discussions-Conclusions-Hopes, Linux.
trackback

To answer the first “why green” question, this site was originally designed in “GREEN” using blogspot. But when I moved to WordPress (November 7 , 2006) I had to swap to a blue look. The title would have been more appropriate as “WHY NOTE GREEN” to suggest that green has an important linux assossiation for me. I would have loved to choose green… because it reminds of my first gasp at the beauty of Suse 9.3 when I first installed it. Yup, it was green. I must admit that I have never seen a more beautifully produced Linux distribution (except elive day time theme), and I really wish that something like that will come along soon. Even Suse dropped it’s green colour for the overused blue. And no, it doesn’t match up. I am often tempted to go back and reinstall the Suse 9.3 distro simply to have a beautiful computer; except that I’d be losing out on the other advances in Linux and Suse. Neverthess, this is why I wish I had green as the main colour of this writing space.

Why Linux?
Because it is the future. No I’m not overstating. Of course, the major distros of Linux may all sell-out and become more commercial and corporate (though I doubt that can be entirely possible). But surely Linux, its way of computing, is an alternative for the future, much like the Mac is today. I can only see the distributions improving, and hopefully coming together to form powerful and feature-rich alliances that show the world that people actually run computers.

Why write about Linux? Because the Linux movement is a community enterprise and benefits from multiple voices supporting it and pushing it forward. I don’t suppose I can contribute through coding, for that is not my strength. But those who shared experiences of their journey with Linux inspired/helped me… and so I hope I may at least inspire others. Aah… but even if that was not so, I want to write for writing sake. No need to give functionality to this project. So basically, I write because I want to be engaged more deeply in the Linux project.

Finally, what next? I’m not sure. I’m waiting to get my Lenovo laptop and struggle to develop a dual boot by bypassing the OEM No-CD restrictions. I’m sure I’m going to enjoy doing that. But it’s going to take many many hours. Then I have to find a distro that will recognise the Wi-Fi cards… and I know that could be a horror. And finally, I need to try Fedora Core 6… which will… (shocker of shockers)… be the first Fedora distro I will be trying. So capture my experiences (some would read struggles) for this… is something I am venturing out to do.

Aah, what narcicist joy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

