jump to navigation

Why Google Docs will not work (Not yet at least) July 30, 2008

Posted by NAyK in Google, Internet, OpenOffice, OpenSUSE, Reviews, Screenshots, Working with Linux.
Tags: ,
trackback

I was just working on Google Docs… actually let me be more specific. I had one file which I was working on through many years and on many computers. I decided that I would finally take the plunge and make it into one integrated web-based document that I could access anywhere that is internet-connected. To me, that sounded not only sensible but also time-saving… afterall, web-based integrated collaboration (be it with others or yourself) was surely the way to go (ps. I have done a lot of GoogleDocs stuff before, but this was my first “large” project running across 60 pages).

I started working, putting all the stuff in one place and finally I was ready to format… and then suddenly poof… my GoogleDocs network crashed (the image above gives the error). Interestingly, my internet connection was still active… it was just that GoogleDocs network stopped working… and yes I lost some work.

Thinking I made a mistake I decided to try again… and then again, same problem… and again I lost some work.

I now surmise that perhaps GoogleDocs cannot handle long files… (latest update: Google has a 512KB limit for documents… yes, this is the same Google that gives over 6GB for emails!!!)… though why it showed up as a network error I don’t know.

But it is also another reason why GoogleDocs is not a trustworthy application as a replacement to the wordpressor. But oh, how great it would be, if it was, if it truly was.

I think what GoogleDocs (online word-processors) need to succeed:

1. Network dependability (not a guarantee in developing worlds) so this is not Google’s fault, but perhaps it would be better to improve real-time saving (save as you type) and also perhaps include a save offline option.

2. Better handling of long (longer) documents.

3. Better handling of complex documents (ie. with footnotes, and table of contents perhaps).

(Yet the above list is more a wishlist… so it’s back to OpenOffice we go. Sigh!)

Comments»

1. MaxC - October 7, 2008

Please remember that google docs is a free application.

2. NAyK - October 7, 2008

To MaxC:

Ohmygosh! What logic. That’s like saying, just because it’s free Gmail should offer only 1 MB file storage. Remember it was Google who lifted the bar by giving 1 GB for emails!!! (unheard of at that time). So right now, a limitation in page length is surprising for Google… and thus, limiting even for regular heavy usage.

Regarding free? Well, so is Open Office. Might as well, work on Open Office and email the document to myself!

Come-on!

3. O.V. - November 18, 2008

I have also had problems with Google Docs. I guess it is definitely a “work in progress.” Although, everything else I have ever used from Google has been absolutely flawless. Hmmmmmm. Maybe Microsoft is secretly sabotaging the Google Docs project by implementing strategic windows updates which break certain google docs features, so that nobody will get too comfortable switching from Microsoft Word to Google Docs. How is that for a conspiracy theory! Ha! :-)

4. Adam rosenberg - December 5, 2008

I’ve been trying to save a one paragraph document on google docs for about 30 minutes and keep getting the network error. All other internet connections are working fine. Just google docs is having this trouble.

So as of December 4, 2008, this issue is not only still going on, but is as bad as ever. I can’t imagine sitting here much longer waiting to save a TEXT file that is ONE paragraph long.

5. Jim - October 20, 2010

Google Docs does not save for me.
Well, sometimes, but I cannot see the
reason for saving or not saving.
So, 10-19-2010 the issue is not only still present but it is not improving.

Now I have to sent email to my boss and as him to save in docs for me. For some strange reason his
system works.
I know, I know, docs is free, I guess you get what you pay for. If you pay 0, guess what you get.


Leave a Reply

